Pakistan women’s national cricket team

The Pakistan women’s national cricket team represents Pakistan in international women’s cricket. The team is governed by the Pakistan Cricket Board (PCB). The Pakistan women’s team played their first international match in 1997, and they became full members of the International Cricket Council (ICC) in 2006.

The Pakistan women’s team has not been as successful as the men’s team in international cricket, but they have shown steady improvement in recent years. They have played in all editions of the ICC Women’s World Twenty20 and the ICC Women’s Cricket World Cup. Their best performance in the World Cup came in 2009 when they reached the Super Six stage.

Some notable players who have represented Pakistan’s women’s cricket team are Sana Mir, Bismah Maroof, Nida Dar, Javeria Khan, and Jahanara Alam. Sana Mir, who retired in 2020, was the most successful captain of the team and the first Asian woman to take 100 wickets in ODIs.

The Pakistan women’s team has faced some challenges regarding resources, infrastructure, and support from the cricket board. However, the PCB has recently taken steps to improve the women’s cricket setup, including introducing a central contract system for women players and appointing a dedicated women’s team coach.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Scroll to Top